Quick Links

Quick Links

Rochford Primary & Nursery School

South East Essex Academy Trust (SEEAT)

Our Governors

The School Governors

School Governors are one of the country's largest voluntary groups with around 300,000 contributing to strategic development and raising standards of achievement at more than 30,000 schools.

Our Governing Body works hard to ensure the best for the children.

School governors have a wide range of responsibilities. They are in charge of planning the school’s future direction and can thereby help raise the standards of pupil achievement. Governors are also accountable to parents and their wider community for the performance of the school.

There are three core functions of a governing body, as reflected in Ofsted’s inspection:

  • Setting vision, ethos and strategic direction, engaging stakeholders, and ensuring statutory duties are met;
  • Holding heads to account for teaching, achievement, behaviour and safety; challenging and strengthening leadership; contributing to school self-evaluation; and
  • Ensuring financial solvency and probity with effective management of financial resources, including the Pupil Premium, to raise standards.

They are also responsible for specific actions such as ensuring that there is a procedure in place for handling complaints; approving the school budget; and appointing the headteacher.

Governing bodies meet at least three times a year and usually rely on committees to advise their decisions. Committees may address issues such as staffing, finance, curriculum and premises. Further information can be found on http://education.gov.uk/

Chair of the Governing Body - Ms. L Bolt - lbolt@rochford.essex.sch.uk








All meetings take place at Rochford Primary and Nursery School or remotely via Zoom on Mondays.


Meetings for School Year 2022-2023:


Autumn Term 2022:

Monday, 26 September 2022

Monday, 21 November 2022


Spring Term 2023:

Monday, 23 January 2023

Monday, 13 March 2023


Summer Term 2023:

Tuesday, 9 May 2023

Monday, 26 June 2023


Back to Top